When you delete a file in Collaboration platform, it is not immediately deleted permanently, only moved into the trash bin. It is not permanently deleted until you manually delete it, or when the Deleted Files app deletes it to make room for new files.
Find your deleted files by clicking on the Deleted files button on the Files page of the Collaboration platform Web interface. You’ll have options to either restore or permanently delete files.
Deleted files are not counted against your storage quota. Only your personal files count against your quota, not files which were shared with you. (See Storage quota to learn more about quotas.)
To ensure that users do not run over their storage quotas, the Deleted Files app allocates a maximum of 50% of their currently available free space to deleted files. If your deleted files exceed this limit, Collaboration platform deletes the oldest files (files with the oldest timestamps from when they were deleted) until it meets the memory usage limit again.
Collaboration platform checks the age of deleted files every time new files are added to the deleted files. By default, deleted files stay in the trash bin for 30 days. The Collaboration platform server administrator can adjust this value in the
config.php file by setting the
trashbin_retention_obligation value. Files older than the
trashbin_retention_obligation value will be deleted permanently. Additionally, Collaboration platform calculates the maximum available space every time a new file is added. If the deleted files exceed the new maximum allowed space Collaboration platform will permanently delete those trashed files with the soonest expiration until the space limit is met again.